How we chose the best courier service in India
We read each courier's own published pages on 22 Oct 2026 and took nothing from courier-comparison blogs. We did not ship test parcels, so no entry below claims a delivery time or a price we measured. What we recorded is what the courier says about itself, quoted where the wording matters.
Five things decided what went into the table: how the courier bills weight, how you book, whether it picks up from you, what it pays for loss or damage, and where you check your own rate. Rupee rates are left out on purpose. They move with weight slab, PIN code pair and service, and the shipping cost calculator does that arithmetic for the parcel you are holding.
Shiprocket is on the list although it does not carry parcels itself: it books them on 42 courier partners by its own count, which is why its column shows the courier's rule rather than its own. More seller guides sit under tools for marketplace sellers.
Best courier service in India: the five compared
Delhivery One is the one entry that prints a divisor you can apply yourself; Blue Dart says “whichever is higher” but prints no divisor. The other cells are what each courier's page says, or a dash where it says nothing.
| Courier | How weight is billed | How to book | Pickup | Loss or damage | Where to check your rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| India Post | Gross weight up to 35 kg “or volumetric weight as defined” | Post office; 24-hour booking at selected offices | Free collection for eligible corporate and bulk customers | Double the charge or ₹1,000, whichever is less | indiapost.gov.in tariff, from 1 Aug 2026 |
| DTDC | Weight, dimensions, distance, service | Website, app, 16,500+ access points | Free home pickup | — | dtdc.com rate calculator |
| Delhivery | Above 1 kg: max(dead, L×B×H/5000); flyers on dead weight up to 1 kg (Delhivery One) | Delhivery One account | — (personal-courier page did not load) | Weight-mismatch claim on delivered shipments | Delhivery rate calculator |
| Blue Dart | Gross or volume weight, whichever is higher | — | — | — | Blue Dart Price Finder |
| Shiprocket | Factor “varies depending on the courier company” | Dashboard or app | Scheduled after the AWB is assigned | — | Shiprocket calculator |
Source: each courier's own website, checked 22 Oct 2026. A dash means the page we read did not state it.
Cheapest courier service in India: each option
Each entry has the same five parts, so you can read across them. Figures are from the courier's own page, checked 22 Oct 2026; where a page was silent, the entry says so instead of filling the gap.
1. India Post (Speed Post Parcel)
Speed Post is cheaper than a private courier for some parcels and not others, so quote the same weight and PIN codes on India Post's tariff and on the courier's calculator before you decide. India Post's Speed Post Parcel rates have been in force since 1 Aug 2026 under S.O. 4241(E); GST is added on top, and proof of delivery costs ₹10 per article (indiapost.gov.in, checked 22 Oct 2026).
- Best for
- Parcels up to 35 kg, and online sellers who want cash on delivery through the post office.
- Key facts
- A Speed Post Parcel can weigh up to 35 kg gross, be up to 1.5 m long and 3 m in length and girth combined. The page lists cash on delivery for e-commerce and online sellers, volume-based discounts, and 24-hour booking at selected offices in major cities. 24 Speed Post delivers the next day to every PIN code in New Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kolkata and Hyderabad, up to 5 kg, and refunds the full postage if D+1 is missed.
- How it charges
- Tariff from 1 Aug 2026, plus GST. Weight is the gross weight “or volumetric weight as defined”; the page prints no divisor.
- Limits and liability
- Loss, pilferage or damage pays double the Speed Post charge or ₹1,000, whichever is less; insurance goes up to ₹5 lakh. Free collection from your premises is for eligible corporate and bulk customers.
- Official page
- India Post Speed Post Parcel page
2. DTDC
DTDC prices a parcel on “weight, dimensions, distance, and the chosen service (express or standard)” and offers a free pickup from your home (dtdc.com, checked 22 Oct 2026). Its consumer page names both a free home pickup and 16,500+ access points.
- Best for
- Sellers who want a doorstep pickup, or a drop-off counter near home.
- Key facts
- You book on the DTDC website, the app, or at any of its 16,500+ Customer Access Points. “Schedule a free pickup from your home” is on its personal-courier page. DTDC Worldwide delivers to over 220 international destinations; the papers you need first are in our guide to exporting from India.
- How it charges
- Weight, dimensions, distance and express or standard service; the rate calculator is on dtdc.com.
- Limits and liability
- Loss or damage terms: not stated on the pages we read. DTDC warns that “www.dtdc.com is DTDC's only official website”, so book there and not on a lookalike site.
- Official page
- DTDC personal courier page
3. Delhivery
Delhivery One bills a parcel under 1 kg on its dead weight, and a parcel above 1 kg on the higher of its dead weight and L×B×H/5000; parcels packed in flyers are charged on dead weight up to 1 kg. That is Delhivery's help-centre rule for Delhivery One Surface and Express (updated 17 Jun 2025, checked 22 Oct 2026).
- Best for
- Sellers with a Delhivery One business account who ship light garments in flyers.
- Key facts
- Dead weight is what the parcel weighs on a scale; volumetric weight is its size turned into a weight, which Delhivery One works out with the divisor 5000. If Delhivery bills a weight you disagree with, raise it on Delhivery One under Disputes → Weight Mismatch → Raise a Claim, which works on delivered shipments.
- How it charges
- Chargeable weight as above; for the rupee figure per slab, use our Delhivery rate calculator.
- Limits and liability
- Delhivery's personal-courier pages did not load for us on 22 Oct 2026, so pickup terms and weight caps for one-off senders are not listed here.
- Official page
- Delhivery help: calculating volumetric weight
4. Blue Dart
Blue Dart charges on “the gross weight of the shipment or the volume/dimensional weight of the shipment, whichever is higher”, in fractions of a kilo such as 0.25 kg or 0.5 kg (bluedart.com Price Finder, checked 22 Oct 2026).
- Best for
- Sellers who want transit time and price for a parcel on one screen before booking: its Price Finder shows both.
- Key facts
- Chargeable weight runs in fractions such as 0.25 kg or 0.5 kg, up to 9,999 kg. Its site carries the notice “Blue Dart Announces General Price Increase Effective January 1st, 2026”, so a quote you saved last year is out of date.
- How it charges
- Higher of gross and volume weight; no divisor in the page text.
- Limits and liability
- Booking channels, pickup and loss terms: not stated in the Price Finder panel we read.
- Official page
- Blue Dart Transit Time & Price Finder
5. Shiprocket (aggregator)
Shiprocket is an aggregator, not a courier: it books your parcel with one of its 42 courier partners, by its own count, and its volumetric factor “varies depending on the courier company” (shiprocket.in, checked 22 Oct 2026).
- Best for
- Sellers taking orders on their own website or WhatsApp who want several couriers in one dashboard.
- Key facts
- The flow is Ship Now → choose a courier → the AWB is assigned → schedule the pickup; for many orders, Bulk Actions assigns couriers by priority and downloads the labels. Pickup is arranged from the Shiprocket dashboard or the app.
- How it charges
- Set by the courier you pick through it; the volumetric factor changes with that courier.
- Limits and liability
- Loss or damage terms: not stated on the pages we read; they follow the courier partner.
- Official page
- Shiprocket volumetric weight calculator
Which courier service is best for your small business
Start with where the order came from, because marketplace orders are not yours to route. A Meesho order is collected by the pickup agent Meesho sends; for a same-day pickup, Meesho says to download the label before 11 AM (Meesho learning hub, retrieved 4 Oct 2026). An Amazon Easy Ship order is picked up from your location by an Amazon Logistics delivery associate (sell.amazon.in, retrieved 4 Oct 2026).
Take a kurti seller who lists on Meesho and also sells on WhatsApp. Her Meesho parcels follow the 11 AM label rule; her WhatsApp orders need a courier she books herself. For those, compare the five on how weight is billed first, then on pickup, then on what is paid if the parcel is lost.
Packing changes the bill. On Delhivery One a kurti in a flyer is charged on dead weight up to 1 kg; put the same kurti in a box above 1 kg and the box size can make volumetric weight the higher figure. India Post and Blue Dart print no divisor, so quote the boxed parcel on their own calculators rather than assuming Delhivery's 5000.
Then work out the chargeable weight in the shipping cost calculator, book the collection with our guide to courier pickup from home, and print the label with the AWB label generator. For Meesho's own pickup partner, read Meesho delivery partner.
Listing on Meesho as well?
ListMagic, our AI listing agent for the Meesho Supplier Panel, writes the catalog for you: title, category, attributes, images and price. Free plan to start; Seller Pass ₹99 a month (StitchMagic pricing, checked 16 Oct 2026).
Try ListMagic